Home | People | Additional Faculty

Additional Faculty

RESEARCH FACULTY

Cecilia Arighi
Research Faculty
147 APBio Center
302-831-3444
arighi@udel.edu
Chuming Chen
Research Faculty
147 APBio Center
302-831-3426
chenc@udel.edu
Hongzhan Huang
Research Faculty
147 APBio Center
302-831-3445
hhuang@udel.edu
Shawn Polson
Research Faculty
147 APBio Center
302-831-3235
polson@udel.edu
David Wood
Research Faculty
205 DBI
302-831-0645

JOINT FACULTY

Stephan Bohacek
Electrical & Computer Engineering
306 Evans
302-831-4274
bohacek@udel.edu
Charles Boncelet
Electrical & Computer Engineering
102 Evans
302-831-8008
boncelet@udel.edu
Hui Fang
Electrical & Computer Engineering
316 Evans
302-831-7238
hfang@udel.edu
Xiaoming Li
Electrical & Computer Engineering
308 DuPont
302-831-0334
xli@udel.edu
Louis Rossi
Dean Grad College, Vice Provost
234 Hullihen Hall
302-831-1880
rossi@udel.edu
Rutherford Teomara
Assistant Professor
134D Willard Hall
302-831-1653
teomara@udel.edu
Nektarios Tsoutsos
Electrical & Computer Engineering
139 Evans Hall
302-831-6655
tsoutsos@udel.edu
Chengmo Yang
Electrical & Computer Engineering
201C Evans
302-831-4997
chengmo@udel.edu

ADJUNCT FACULTY

M. Sandra Carberry
Professor Emeritus
439 Smith Hall
302-831-1954
carberry@udel.edu
Sheng-Chih Chen
Adjunct Faculty
147 APBio Center
302-831-0161
scchen@udel.edu
John Garavelli

147 APBio Center
302-831-6922
jsgarave@udel.edu

Bert Gibbons

441 Smith
302-831-0106
bgibbons@udel.edu

Janet Kim

192 S. Chapel Street
302-831-3752
janetkim@udel.edu

Jean Neff

309C Hullihen
302-831-8813
neff@udel.edu

AFFILIATED FACULTY

Ben Carterette
Associate Professor

302-831-3185
carteret@udel.edu

Jingyi Yu
Professor

302-831-0345
jingyiyu@udel.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

  • Paul Amer
    amer@udel.edu
    Alumni Distinguished Professor Emeritus

    Transport protocols; stream transmission control protocol (SCTP); data compression in multimedia

  • M. Sandra Carberry
    carberry@udel.edu
    Professor Emeritus

    Natural language understanding, response generation, user modeling, dialogue systems, summarization, digital libraries, intelligent interfaces, plan recognition.
    Research Website

  • John Case
    case@udel.edu
    Professor Emeritus
  • Daniel Chester
    chester@udel.edu
    Professor Emeritus

    Artificial intelligence and knowledge representation.

  • Errol Lloyd
    elloyd@udel.edu
    Professor Emeritus

    Design and analysis of algorithms, with a particular emphasis on the development and analysis of approximation algorithms for NP-hard optimization problems.

  • B. David Saunders
    saunders@udel.edu
    Professor Emeritus

    Algorithms for high performance exact linear algebra computation. Implementations in the software library LinBox.
    Research Website

In Memoriam 

Remembering faculty from UD’s Department of Computer and Information Sciences.

Claudio Gutierrez

Claudio Gutierrez was a Visiting Professor in our department from 1983 and stayed until 1995 and served as Interim Chair of the Department  from August 1987 through July 1988.

Hagit Shatkay

Hagit Shatkay-Reshef, PhD, a professor at the College of Engineering’s Department of Computer and Information Sciences (CIS) and Department of Biomedical Engineering, as well as at the Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology and the Data Science Institute, passed away on Jan. 2, 2022.

David E. Lamb

David E. Lamb, former University of Delaware professor of chemical engineering, director of UD’s Computing Center and founding chair of the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, passed away on March 7, 2019.

John Cavazos, Jr.

John Cavazos Jr., an associate professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences and Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Delaware, died on Nov. 3, 2018.

Bobby F. Caviness

Bobby (Bob) F. Caviness, professor emeritus who shaped the University of Delaware Department of Computer and Information Sciences, died Jan. 11, 2018.

George E. Collins

George E. Collins, a Distinguished Research Professor at the University of Delaware from 1985-86 and 1995-2002, died Nov. 21, 2017.

Hatem M. Khalil 

Hatem M. Khalil, PhD, a Fulbright scholar and associate professor of computer science at the University of Delaware passed away on April 18, 1985.